Farm Credit Mid-America Awards Scholarships to College Students



More than 75 students pursuing careers related to agricultural and rural community development received scholarships from Farm Credit Mid-America.

October 31, 2017    |    News Stories
Louisville, Ky. (October 31, 2017) – More than 75 students pursuing careers related to agricultural and rural community development received scholarships from Farm Credit Mid-America. Scholarships were awarded based on academic record, leadership qualities, community and school involvement, and demonstrations of their passion for agriculture.  

“Scholarships are a direct example of our investment in the future of agriculture,” said Bill Johnson, president and CEO of Farm Credit Mid-America, “We’re proud to support students with career aspirations in agriculture. These students, their skills and their passion for the industry inspire optimism for the future of rural communities and agriculture.”  

Farm Credit Mid-America funds scholarships under three categories: the College Leaders Scholarship program, Customer Agricultural Scholarships and Partner-Based Scholarships.  

The College Leaders Scholarship program is a two-year program that awards participants with $5,000 scholarships. Students also receive week-long learning and travel experiences focused on leadership development and financial education. See recipients of these scholarships here.  

The Customer Agricultural Scholarship program awards $1,000 to college-bound students who are children or grandchildren of Farm Credit Mid-America customers. Recipients, their hometowns and universities are listed below.  

The Partner-Based Scholarship program collaborates with universities and other youth development organizations to offer scholarships to outstanding students.  

For more information about scholarships at Farm Credit Mid-America, visit  

Customer Agricultural Scholarship Recipients

  • Bradley Berlet, Walton, Purdue University
  • Emily C. Acker, Franklin, Purdue University
  • Megan Berry, Pittsboro, Indiana University
  • Evan Scott Brandenburg, Rensselaer, University of Indianapolis
  • Regan E. Culp, Francesville, Purdue University
  • Kylie Echard, Wabash, Purdue University
  • Emma Eckrote, Macy, Indiana State University
  • Jacob Johnson, Westport, Purdue University
  • Kylei Klein, Connersville, Purdue University
  • Rebecca Koehne, Greensburg, Purdue University
  • Gloria Koester, Wadesville, Purdue University
  • Nolan Lottes, Loogootee, Vincennes University
  • Chaela Marie Minor, Reelsville, Purdue University
  • Peyton Mohler, Frankfort, Purdue University
  • Derek Neuhoff, Huntingburg, Purdue University
  • Jesse Allen Organ, Freelandville, Ivy Tech Community College
  • Jason Perkins, LaGrange, Purdue University
  • Bennett Matthew Walther, Centerville, Purdue University
  • Emma Wischmeier, Columbus, Purdue University  
  • Abigail Lynne Adams, Russell Springs, University of Kentucky
  • Courtney Spencer Cornelius, Tompkinsville, Western Kentucky University
  • Gracie Furnish, Cynthiana, University of Kentucky
  • Grace Eliza Green, Elizabethtown, University of Kentucky
  • Paul James Logsdon IV, Ramsey, Midway University
  • Tarah Lane Nally, Uniontown, Western Kentucky University
  • MaKayla Anne Rose, Olive Hill, Morehead State University
  • Tayor Thomas Saunders, Mayslick, Morehead State University
  • Leah Wiles, Elkton, Eastern Kentucky University
  • Daniel P. Wheeler, Scottsville, University of Kentucky  
  • Kaitlin Carrie Butterfield, Oxford, The Ohio State University
  • Evan Conrad, Metamora, University of Northwestern Ohio
  • Grant M. Cory, Columbus, The Ohio State University
  • Philip Eberly, Wooster, The Ohio State University
  • Emily Elfers, Springfield, Wilmington College
  • Kaitlyn Finton, Coshocton, Wilmington College
  • Katherine Garen, Mount Sterling, The Ohio State University
  • Ashley Haylett, Columbia, Clemson University
  • Jarod E. Herron, Salem, The Ohio State University
  • Ellen Kauffman, Wooster, Oklahoma State University
  • Lea Kimley, South Charleston, The Ohio State University
  • Rachel Osterloh, Versailles, Bowling Green State University
  • Amanda Schmitmeyer, Coldwater, The Ohio State University
  • Davis Bradley Sodders, Baltimore, Hocking College
  • Katherine Wolfe, Louisville, The Ohio State University 
  • Molly Carpenter, Union City, University of Tennessee at Martin
  • Olivia Grace Childress, Bogota, University of Tennessee at Martin
  • Emily Caroline Davis, Maryville, University of Tennessee
  • Sarah Elizabeth Dodd, Trenton, University of Tennessee at Martin
  • Audrey Fulton, Springfield, Austin Peay State University
  • Martin Grissom, Rock Island, University of Tennessee at Martin
  • Amee Hankins, Afton, University of Tennessee
  • Kasey Harmon, Athens, University of Tennessee
  • Emily Haskew, South Pittsburg, University of Tennessee
  • Leah Catherine Hyatt, Bradyville, Middle Tennessee State University
  • Mary Lane Minatra, Rockvale, University of Tennessee at Martin
  • Hannah Elizabeth Nave, Woodbury, University of Tennessee at Martin
  • Breanna Rose, Lawrenceburg, University of Tennessee
  • Emma Rushton, Waverly, University of Tennessee at Martin
  • Allison Caitlin Winburn, Whitesburg, Walters State Community College 
  • John Thomas Woolfolk, Jackson, University of Tennessee at Martin  
About Farm Credit Mid-America

Farm Credit Mid-America is a financial services cooperative and has served the credit needs of farmers and rural residents across Indiana, Ohio, Kentucky and Tennessee for over a century. Backed by the strength of nearly 100,000 customers and $22 billion in assets, Farm Credit Mid-America provides loans for real estate, operating, equipment, housing and related services such as crop insurance, and vehicle, equipment and building leases. For more information, call 1-800-444-FARM or visit